Which is better, Pinned or Clamp gas block on an AR?

This is a discussion on Which is better, Pinned or Clamp gas block on an AR? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Another forum that I belong to this topic came up. Which is better? Having a pinned gas block, or a clamp on (no pins, no ...

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By ZOMBIEvs42
  • 1 Post By Fallschirmjäger
  • 2 Post By jonconsiglio
  • 1 Post By munch520

Thread: Which is better, Pinned or Clamp gas block on an AR?

Which is better, Pinned or Clamp gas block on an AR?

Another forum that I belong to this topic came up.

Which is better? Having a pinned gas block, or a clamp on (no pins, no set screws), and why.

To me a pinned is the way to go, as it keeps it in place and does not put any pressure points on the barrel, but I am just regurgitating what I have gleaned from reading here and other places. I have no technical background on the matter.
    Sticks

Grasseater // Grass~eat~er noun, often attributive \ˈgras-ē-tər\
    A person who is incapable of independent thought; a person who is herd animal-like in behavior; one who cannot distinguish between right and wrong; a foolish person.
    See also Sheep

2. Remove Ads

I have also heard that pinned is the way to go. Also, the lit for my DD M4V5 had some section on why they chose to pin the gas block.

in my experience, either. its just a different way to do the same thing, sure, you can get super technical with math magic and theory to explain why one is better than the other, but unless your shooting bench rest out to a mile and beyond, either will last you forever.
    Bad Bob likes this.
    weekend pre-apocolypse nomadic warrior, leather duster and all.