Sling mounts for Colt AR

Sling mounts for Colt AR

This is a discussion on Sling mounts for Colt AR within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi, I'm new to ARs. I bought a Colt 6920 with magpul furniture. I got the ms3 sling with a quick od release on the ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Sling mounts for Colt AR

Sling mounts for Colt AR

Hi,

I'm new to ARs. I bought a Colt 6920 with magpul furniture. I got the ms3 sling with a quick od release on the back and a clip on the front.

I'm looking for ideas on how to mount this. I'll probably use the magpul sling loop that screws directly onto the handguard.

For the back, I don't want to break the staking on the castle nut, so i'm looking for an adapter that slips on. I know that troy and Midwest industries make them. Are one of these better than the other? Any other options?
    Will they prevent me from fully collapsing the stock?

To the best of my knowledge, the sling mounts will not prevent you from fully collapsing the stock. This has been my experience, but of course I can't speak for all the different sling mounts out there.

If you're worried about it, I'd say the best thing you can do, especially since you are new to ARs, is just take the rifle to a reputable gunsmith that can install an adapter for you and can deal with any castle nut issues.
    "Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet."
    -General James Mattis, USMC

Lead Moderator
    I personally would rather have the rear mount under the castle nut just to really secure it. I use the front loop mount on my rifle and it works well (although does rattle and make noise).
    pittypat21, 5lima30ret and Aceoky like this.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

Quote Originally Posted by cyclone2015 View Post
    Hi,