First time shooting shotgun at the trap rainge. Any additional pointers for a newbie?

This is a discussion on First time shooting shotgun at the trap rainge. Any additional pointers for a newbie? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I shot my new shotgun at the nearby Shotgun range today. The Range Officer was very helpful. My first time shooting trap (25 rounds), I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: First time shooting shotgun at the trap rainge. Any additional pointers for a newbie?

First time shooting shotgun at the trap rainge. Any additional pointers for a newbie?

I shot my new shotgun at the nearby Shotgun range today. The Range Officer was very helpful. My first time shooting trap (25 rounds), I only hit 2 clay. With a few pointers and watching others, I improved 28% on my second attempt. As a newbie here are my pointers for other first timers (not in any order): Feel free to provide additional helpful tips.
    • Bring more ammo. I only took 2 boxes (25) and would have shot more.
    • Pump action is a pain when shooting trap (you have to pick up the empty shells after you are done). Empty your shells in a way where they fall close by.
    • Wear a shooting vest or something where you can keep your shots and empties handy.
    • Check if your range has special ammo restrictions. My range does not allow steel shots (has to be lead). I am not sure why. I had one box with steel shots that I cannot use.
    • Bring cigars!!! Lots of cool old guys having fun and smoking cigars. I don’t really smoke, but I will smoke one next time.
    • I was happy to see a couple women shooting also (attractive by the way).
    • Keep your head down and on target. I was moving my head a lot and it impacted my accuracy.
    • Keep the butt stock firmly against your shoulder. My first shot was a fail. I had the butt against arm. (still feeling it)