Anyone here build AKs?

Anyone here build AKs?

This is a discussion on Anyone here build AKs? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; So I'm planning on picking up a couple of AK kits here pretty soon...anyone else build their own? Thinking of putting together a "build party". ...

Anyone here build AKs?

So I'm planning on picking up a couple of AK kits here pretty soon...anyone else build their own? Thinking of putting together a "build party". I've never done it before so I think I'll start with a Romanian G and then move on to an underfolder of some sort. I've seen the instructions and tools needed and don't think any of it will really be a problem, but I'd be interested to hear other people's stories just the same...

I've been through one screw build. I worked with a G kit and accessorized once the rifle was done.

What type of build (screw, rivet, weld) are you going to go with?

I think I'm going to make up a few jigs and and go with a rivet build...since I'm planning on doing a few of them then I think it will be worth it for me. Originally thought about a "U-Drive" build, but I think I want to use the rivets after seeing what is involved in each method. I do plan on going with 100% receivers though...maybe if I really get into it later (and can split a flat bending jig with someone) then I'll use flats...but until then I just can't justify the time/money involved in the tooling for building from flats. Trying to put an AK "build party" together in my area so that may help out with that if we all go in on some of the specialized tools needed for flat building....but I'd still like to start off a bit "easier" than flats for now

This has been covered in other areas, but: DO NOT U-Drive. They are low/no-load fasteners. My dad was a welder fabricator, and I've done a bit of that myself, hobby-wise.