Complete novice AR15 questions

This is a discussion on Complete novice AR15 questions within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I know I should use the search function, but i'm naturally lazy. I am a complete and utter novice when it comes to 'long guns', ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree175Likes

Thread: Complete novice AR15 questions

I know I should use the search function, but i'm naturally lazy.
    I am a complete and utter novice when it comes to 'long guns', so i'm putting this out here for some 'expert' advice from the DC community.

Over the last couple of weeks I have been considering whether to buy an AR-15 before they are completely banned. I have absolutely no clue what I am looking at regarding these firearms. From what I have seen so far is, 223/5.56 seems to be the 'common' caliber for most of the 'off the shelf' versions, which is what I would be buying as I have no desire or knowledge about building one.

I doubt it would be a regularly used gun, with not much more than occasional trips to the range to let off some steam and as a long range HD gun. I know the adage "you get what you pay for", but i'm not looking to pay a fortune for something that will likely get very little use.

I was glancing around Armslist and came across this one:
    ARMSLIST - For Sale: S&W M&P 15 Sport

Does this sound like a good deal or not?. I want to keep it under $700 so this is the kind of thing i'm looking at.
    Thanks for any help guys and gals.

Sara Lou
    Just because i'm paranoid, doesn't mean they're not out to get me....

Administrator
    Go just a touch more and buy a Colt 6920 and you won't have to worry if you bought the right gun or not.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Lead Moderator
    The M&P. sport were getting good reviews, another might be check out Pallmetto state armory.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson