If you were going into battle woud you rather have the

• Reliable AK

Votes: 112 41.6%
  • Accurate AR

Votes: 157 58.4%

Going into battle

7K views 73 replies 65 participants last post by  Rick Oshay 
#1 ·
If you were going into battle would you rather have the reliable AK or the more accurate AR

#4 · (Edited)
I'd take the AR. I can never get a good cheek weld on an AK.

Besides AR's are pretty reliable.

I only picked AR because FN-FAL isn't an option

#6 ·
I'm picking the AR over the AK. Only hits count. I'm not into spraying a lot of bullets indiscriminately all around. Just interested in hitting.
Actually I'd really rather have an M14! And I do, a Springfield Armory M1A Scout Squad with Aimpoint 2X Red Dot Scope.

#33 ·
Don't mean to hijack this thread, but I REALLY need to talk to you about your 2X Aimpoint!

I treated myself to a Springfield SOCOM for Christmas.

I have some experience with forward mounting a Burris Scout Scope on a Mini-14 and it was very positive.

Aimpoint is the only company offering a magnifying Red Dot. It seems to me that a 2X Red Dot forward mounted ala a Scout Scope would, theoretically, give you the best of both worlds - the speed of a red dot for CQB plus the greater long range accuracy of a 2X Scope.

Problem is, I didn't know anyone who has one or who could report on how the theory holds up in the real world. Until now.

So how's it been working out for you?

#8 ·
AR, as I'm a lefty and that effectively rules out the AK series. But, I'm generally for 100% reliability as the first criterion of any weapon (which would dictate an AK).

So. Guess you could say I'm between a rock and a hard place. (Got a Stag AR in December, BTW. Nice shooter.)

#10 ·
Tough choice...

AK- extremely reliable, 7.62 round (bigger hole)

AR- reliable, smaller bullet, more accurate