Cleaning up an SKS

Cleaning up an SKS

This is a discussion on Cleaning up an SKS within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Just finished cleaning the cosmoline off a Yugo SKS I purchased several months ago. Had to wait for my wife to be out of town ...

Thread: Cleaning up an SKS

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar

Cleaning up an SKS

Just finished cleaning the cosmoline off a Yugo SKS I purchased several months ago.

Had to wait for my wife to be out of town so she couldn't object to my using the oven. Hope the cosmo smell goes away before she gets back.

Anyway, that is the LAST time I buy anything with cosmoline on it. Cleaning it up just sucked rocks... tho www.surplusrifle.com was very helpful with disassembly instructions and advice.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Next time, use Easy-Off oven cleaner, or Gunk Gel, and hose it off in the yard. Then use brake cleaner, then heat.

You better bake some cookies, she'll notice the smell when she walks in.

We took what we could fit into one of those "carb cleaner in a bucket" kits and let it soak overnight, then those parts went into the dishwasher... Factory fresh and no cosmo.

The rest of the parts received a good soak in mineral spirits or brake cleaner...

VIP Member
    Mineral spirits works great. Get a plastic flower box (they're about 6-8 inches wide by 36 inches long). Poor your mineral spirits into the container, separate your action from the stock & but metal parts in & scrub with a stiff brush.

After you clean the metal parts, soak the stock in it as well. The mineral spirits will removed the soaked in oil/grease that is on the stock & since there is no water in it.......not damage to wood.

After cleaning the stock, you may want to set it out in the sun to help 'bleed' some more of the oil out of it........& clean again. After that is should ready to stain.