Defensive Carry banner

keeping the 870 safe from kids but ready for action

12K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  Chuck R. 
#1 ·
this is my first post on this forum. can someone tell me if there is a device that locks a shotgun (think clam shell that bolts to a wall stud) but can be opened with a finger style key pad (a la the gun vault)--or better yet, biometric finger print?

the device would ideally lock the trigger gaurd area and prevent the gun from being racked. the triger locks i've seen are downright dangerous and ridiculous. i have a gun vault for a handgun...but really want to get an 870 but don't feel good about having it with kids in the house.

i think gun vault makes a long/rifle size safe with their "hand access" on top...but i was looking for something i could mount behind the bed ...onto the wall--into a stud.

does this magical beast exist? or am i missing the point? i'm a bit new to guns and just got my CCW

mcvolvo
xd45 acp compact
NRA member
Scottsdale Gun Club Member

#2 ·
it does not exist...I looked...so I made one :smile:
I used an electronic gun lock from Santa Cruz (the kind of lock they use in a lot of police cars) and a keypad from smart home.

These locks grab the 870 around the barrel and mag tube so that the gun can't be racked...leave it in "cruiser ready" mode with an empty chamber and full mag and you are ready to go.

http://www.santacruzgunlocks.com/products/locks/pump.html

...of course then I ended up finding out that I'm more comfortable leaving it in the safe...at night I open the safe before I go to bed and close it first thing in the morning....works better for me that way, but you can certainly use the locks from SC to make something similar to what you want. My only problem was that I didn't come up with a battery backup and even though it has a key backup I wanted a battery...I'm still working on it in my spare time but I haven't done much with it in a while.

#3 ·