Ammo Confusion: .308, 7.62

This is a discussion on Ammo Confusion: .308, 7.62 within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I was once told that the .308 and 7.62 rounds were interchangeble. Now, I'm pretty new to rifles. But there's 7.62X 39, 7.62X 54R. Are ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ammo Confusion: .308, 7.62

Distinguished Member Array Squawker's Avatar

Ammo Confusion: .308, 7.62

I was once told that the .308 and 7.62 rounds were interchangeble. Now, I'm pretty new to rifles. But there's 7.62X 39, 7.62X 54R. Are either of these interchangeble with .308, or was I misinformed?

2. Remove Ads

Senior Moderator
    7.62 is the diameter of the bullet.
    39 and 54r is the length of the case, the r meaning "rimmed".

They are not interchangable.

Anytime you see a metic designation such as 6.5 x 55 the first is the diameter and the second is the length of the case.

7.62 is also the metric designation for our .30 caliber. The military uses metric, everyone else uses caliber. Thus, in the case of military speak, 7.62 is synonomous with 308, since that is the caliber that is issued other than the 5.56 (or .223.)
    The further a society drifts from the truth, the more it will hate those that speak it...- George Orwell

AR. CHL Instr. 07/02 FFL
    Like custom guns and stuff? Check this out...
    http://bobbailey1959.wordpress.com/

VIP Member
    No, they are not interchangeable. The NATO designation for the .308 Winchester round is 7.62 x 51mm (in one sense, a shortened, hence easier for logistics) .30-06 (7.62 x 63mm). The 7.62 x 39mm is an "assault rifle" caliber associated with the Soviet AK-47 and its variants, while the 7.62 X 54mm round (aka 7.62 x 54Rmm or 7.62 Russian) was chambered in the Soviet Moisin-Nagant rifles which were similar operationally to the 1903 Springfield bolt-action rifle.