AK47 Injury

AK47 Injury

This is a discussion on AK47 Injury within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Well maybe not an impressive injury, but an embarrassing one for sure. About two weeks ago I got a new Romanian AK47 for my birthday. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AK47 Injury

AK47 Injury

Well maybe not an impressive injury, but an embarrassing one for sure. About two weeks ago I got a new Romanian AK47 for my birthday. I have no experience with an AK, but it was a lot cheaper than the AR's and I've heard they are pretty good.

I've been wanting to strip it down and clean it real good, but haven’t had the time to learn how. Today I searched the net and found instructions on how to field strip it. Surprisingly it looked pretty easy.

I took it out on the patio, and took it down just like the video showed. I lovingly cleaned and lubed it, put it back together. Function checked it, perfect. (I am the )

Then I noticed something else in the box. A little package that has what looks like a spare part of some kind. OMGosh it's a little tube shaped cleaning kit. How weird is that I thought. I wonder why its shaped like that? Then I noticed a spring loaded trapdoor on the stock of the rifle. It must go in there.. those AK guys are genius'.

So I pushed the kit through the trapped door, and it was swallowed up in the stock.

Then :queue disaster music: I poked my thumb in to get it back out, and that was the wrong move. The trapped door opened, my thumb went in, and the spring behind the cleaning kit, pushed the kit into my thumb, and bent it 90 degrees at the first joint. The spring tension held my thumb bent, and there was no way to pull it out.