Help with Optics for a Bushmaster M4 A3

This is a discussion on Help with Optics for a Bushmaster M4 A3 within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have a Bushmaster M4A3 AR15 and I'm am enjoying it immensely. I'm looking into getting some kind of scope or Red Dot optic for ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with Optics for a Bushmaster M4 A3

I have a Bushmaster M4A3 AR15 and I'm am enjoying it immensely.

I'm looking into getting some kind of scope or Red Dot optic for it and could use some recommendations. It has a removable handle, but I have seen some optics mounted on the handle. Any pros/cons for mounting on the handle?

Thanks!

First, do you really use the handle? If you get a BUIS (back up iron sight) and something like an EOTech or Aimpoint, you have the best of both worlds. You have the fast pickup of the optic and you can still use the iron sights as they co-witness through the optic.

Quote Originally Posted by jualdeaux View Post
    First, do you really use the handle? If you get a BUIS (back up iron sight) and something like an EOTech or Aimpoint, you have the best of both worlds. You have the fast pickup of the optic and you can still use the iron sights as they co-witness through the optic.
    Not really. Any recommendations on a BUIS and an EOTech?

Thanks!

Senior Member Array Sergeant Mac's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 77bob View Post
    Any pros/cons for mounting on the handle?
    Pro: Ease of removal, can use factory iron sights if you use a see-through mount

Con: EXTREMELY high sight plane severely limits the distances at which the sight will be "on target", three points of attachment (carrying handle to receiver, scope mount to carrying handle, scope to scope mount) provide more "wiggle room" for misalignment