Thinking about a carbine

Thinking about a carbine

This is a discussion on Thinking about a carbine within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; With the recent discussions about bug-out gear I've been thnking about long guns. Something in .357 like the lever action Winchester clones. What sort of ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar

Thinking about a carbine

With the recent discussions about bug-out gear I've been thnking about long guns. Something in .357 like the lever action Winchester clones.

What sort of range can you expect? Are these powerful enough for hunting?

I've got a 10/22 for small game, and a 12g pump for home defense... but something longer-ranged might be nice... and I'd rather not add another type of ammo to the mix.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

357 Carbine isnt to bad it packs close to the punch of a 30/30 i belive i read out of a 16" barrel.

Just like in
    a handgun it would get the job done if needed. Course some will argue with this but i would only say the 357 in a carbine would be good to 100-125 yards unless you were running some barn burner homebrew loads.

At that point it is losing a lot of power just like the old 30/30 and should be considered marginal at best.

I would prefer a full on rifle for longer range but the Pistol caliber carbing come in mighty handy to and also cheep for plinking at least my 9mm Storm is

Assistant Administrator
    Bud refers to the CX-4 Storm - I enjoy mine and it does make best use of the 9mm round - it is possible to stretch that to 100 yards and still stay on the paper.