.45 long Colt vs .410 slug

This is a discussion on .45 long Colt vs .410 slug within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Winchester makes lever action .410's that will handle Foster-style slugs. They also make .45 Long Colt versions. I know that many .410 weapons will also ...

Thread: .45 long Colt vs .410 slug

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar

.45 long Colt vs .410 slug

Winchester makes lever action .410's that will handle Foster-style slugs.

They also make .45 Long Colt versions.

I know that many .410 weapons will also handle .45 Long Colt.

So, what's the difference between a .410 slug and a .45 bullet? What are the advantages of each? Range? Projectile weight?
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

2. Remove Ads

Cant really say but i think the advantage would go to the 45 with a heavier slug .. espically if its a hand load as you cant get real power out of it not the real wimpy stuff the factory loads

Assistant Administrator
    tank - never thought of this comparison but I'd say Bud has best idea.

.45LC can, in strong firearms, be loaded to pretty high levels - then too we have the accuracy factor which I think would be lacking from a .410 slug, even if it was marginally heavier. True I imagine - a hot loaded 3" mag .410 will project a slug with good energy but - I'll stick with the metallic cartridge here.

Haven't done a ballistics comparison but I doubt the energy difference would too much apart.... tho at close range I expect the slug might win out.
    Chris - P95
    NRA Certified Instructor & NRA Life Member.

"To own a gun and assume that you are armed
    is like owning a piano and assuming that you are a musician!."

http://www.rkba-2a.com/ - a portal for 2A links, articles and some videos.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by tanksoldier
    Winchester makes lever action .410's that will handle Foster-style slugs.