Slug question

Slug question

This is a discussion on Slug question within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; What sort of effective range can I expect with rifled slugs out of an 18" cylinder barrel? What choke would be a good compromise allowing ...

Thread: Slug question

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar

Slug question

What sort of effective range can I expect with rifled slugs out of an 18" cylinder barrel?

What choke would be a good compromise allowing me to switch between shot and slugs on the fly?
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Around 100y, maybe 80Y max? Maybe a rifled choke might help? "18 just isn't that long.

Chokes arent important when it comes to SD shooting, when it comes to shooting shot. Just make sure its either improved cylinder, modified or special.

If I were you, I would stick with shot for defence inside the house. Sluggs for everything else.
    Last edited by gregarat; September 11th, 2005 at 07:49 PM.

Senior Member Array CombatEffective's Avatar
    Don't use the rifled tubes with a rifled slug. The groves on the tube and the grooves on the slug will not match up.

Tubes make a huge difference with shot. With cylinder bore my 18" 870 barrel will always have at least one flyer off of the body sillouhette at 20 yards plus. At 25 yards with my modified choke in the same weapon/barrel I get patterns that can be covered with an outstretched hand. Sure, at 10 yards or less it might not be an issue, but can you tell me that absolutely certain you won't have to make a longer shot with your combat shotgun.