Preferred method for mounting Aimpoint to AR-15

This is a discussion on Preferred method for mounting Aimpoint to AR-15 within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have an old pre ban Bushmaster AR-15, A1 style with carry handle. No rails. What is the preferred method for mounting an Aimpoint Sight? ...

Thread: Preferred method for mounting Aimpoint to AR-15

Question Preferred method for mounting Aimpoint to AR-15

I have an old pre ban Bushmaster AR-15, A1 style with carry handle. No rails. What is the preferred method for mounting an Aimpoint Sight? Should I mount it low on top of the hand guards so I can co-witness with the iron sights? Or should I mount it high on top of the carry handle. Pros and cons would be nice for all you experts out there.

Thanks for your input,

Jeff
    Ahhh, what an awful dream. Ones and zeros everywhere... and I thought I saw a two.

2. Remove Ads

I dislike using a goose-neck mount with the Aimpoint. It sits too far forward for my taste. I also find it more difficult, and therefore slower, to pick-up the dot with the entire carry handle in my line of sight.

I had my Aimpoint mounted on a see-thru mount on top of my carry handle for two of my combat tours. I found the set up had a good deal to offer.

First, this arrangement provides an uncluttered sight picture. I prefer a uncluttered sight picture when using an optic as I find it easier to acquire the dot. Typically, I am ~.10 seconds faster getting a hit from the low-ready when using an uncluttered sight picture over having the sights in my field of view with the optic.

Second, I think the additional height of this arrangement also contributed to an increase in speed. I found it easier to interpose the optic in my line of sight when mounting the rifle from a low-ready position.