Unfamiliar with hunting calibers

This is a discussion on Unfamiliar with hunting calibers within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Other than .30-06 and .223 of course. So if 450 Marlin was a handgun caliber, what would it be? 44mag? 454 Casull? The new 500? ...

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar

Other than .30-06 and .223 of course.

So if 450 Marlin was a handgun caliber, what would it be?
    44mag? 454 Casull? The new 500? Somethings else?

Anybody familiar with the Wincester M94 Timber in 450 Marlin?
    18" comp'd barrel, lever action, 4 round magazine, ghost ring sights but tapped for scope.

Deer gun? Bear gun? Godzilla gun? Estimated effective range?
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Lead Moderator
    If I recall correctly, the .450 is a straight walled cartridge similar to the .45 LC. It would be a bear suitable cartridge. Lots of power, lots of recoil.

The 450 Marlin is the Actual lloading of what the 45-70 should be and why it was created..

The factorys wont crank up the 45-70 becuse there so many old guns out there that probley couldnt handle the 450 marlin loading just like with the 44 Sp

So Marlin teamed with Hornady i think it was to create a modern loading of the 45-70 like most handloader loaders All Ready do.

Except avaible in Factory ammo and made it a Belted magnum so there was no way they could load it in a old say trap door springfield and blow it up

The 450 should pretty much take anything in north america probley a 200 yard gun with the short 18 inch tube could probley push it farther im sure but that about where i would stop

Distinguished Member Array RSSZ's Avatar