Defensive Carry banner

Best 5.56 rounds for civilian self defense

35K views 18 replies 13 participants last post by  ridurall 
#1 ·
Any suggestions on the best loads for us civies to keep loaded in our AR's for self defense. My rifle will have a 16 inch barrel.

Just wanting to know what to buy once I get the new DPMS.

#2 ·
"Best" is going to be determined, in part, by your barrel's rifling.

The Hornady 75-grain TAP (not TAP FPD) is generally regarded as the "best" load for 5.56mm. Unfortunately, it almost always requires a 1:7 barrel.

Other rounds to consider are Federal's 64-grain and 55-grain TRU. The 64-grain round should stabilize in a 1:9 barrel and the 55-grain round certainly will.

Some friends tell me the FBI adopted the Winchester Ranger 60-grain Nosler Partition round. I have no experience with it, but I have heard nothing but good things. It may also be worth a look.

Also, be prepared to drop some money. Some of these rounds can run $1/round or more. Factor in 20 rounds to zero you iron sights (+20 more for an optic) plus whatever you plan to keep on hand for social work and you can get some big numbers fairly quick.

#3 ·
I really like 55 grain Ballistic tips; if you have ever seen what one does to a coyote, you would agree......

I have 500 rounds that I keep on hand for a rainy day, so to speak. They are superbly accurate rounds and they hit like a truck.

My weapon is a DPMS 16" carbine with a bull barrel and an Eotech.

#6 ·
45gr JHP's for most everything.

#7 ·