7.62 NATO, Semi-Auto, "sniper" rifle

This is a discussion on 7.62 NATO, Semi-Auto, "sniper" rifle within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Here's what I'm looking for: - A semi-auto rifle, chambered for 7.62 NATO, that won't choke on .308 Winchester ammo - Needs to accept 20 ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 7.62 NATO, Semi-Auto, "sniper" rifle

Here's what I'm looking for:

- A semi-auto rifle, chambered for 7.62 NATO, that won't choke on .308 Winchester ammo
    - Needs to accept 20 round magazines, & have 5 round magazines available
    - I want to be able to have excellent accuracy out to at least 600 meters
    - It has to be able to take down deer-sized animals at that same distance (assuming I am good enough to hit them, of course )
    - I need to be able to mount a scope that will allow me to be precise out to at least 600 meters
    - It can't cost an arm and a leg...

I'm fairly new to the ins and outs of 7.62 / .308 rifles, so don't assume I know anything about anything. Having said that, I grew up hunting with my Dad, some of which was deer hunting. I used a semi-auto 308 Winchester for the few years that I hunted deer, so while I'm not a complete noob, please feel free to pretend I am...

Any and all suggestions will be much appreciated!
    "It is only as retaliation that force may be used and only against the man who starts its use. No, I do not share his evil or sink to his concept of morality: I merely grant him his choice, destruction, the only destruction he had a right to choose: his own." - John Galt, from Atlas Shrugged

JD
    Administrator
    You want a Springfield M1A variant, I'd go loaded or National Match, and a damn good scope.

The M1A does have 5rd, 10rd, 20, and 30rd mags available.

Either what JD said, or maybe a DPMS AR10. don't know of anything that fits the bill that isn't a bit pricey, but you didn't specify whose arm or leg. (some are worth more than others)