Need some guidance

This is a discussion on Need some guidance within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Ok so here is my situation. I am going to have some money left over after paying tuition and books this semester and want to ...

Thread: Need some guidance

Need some guidance

Ok so here is my situation. I am going to have some money left over after paying tuition and books this semester and want to get an AR-15. The thing is, I have no knowledge of these rifles.

I am looking for something that is pretty basic, but won't be a pain or hard to find parts to upgrade in the future with grips, stocks, etc. I can go to probably $800 or so in price and just need somebody to point me in the right direction. With the upcoming election and the fact that I have been wanting one for awhile, I feel it is time to buy. Any help is appreciated and remember I do NOT know much about these rifles.

Oh and by the way, this rifle will be primarily for target shooting for right now. I have a 12 gauge and a 1911 for home protection.
    Last edited by Strokin99; August 5th, 2008 at 07:11 PM. Reason: forgot something
    Springfield 1911A1, Ruger GP100 .357 mag, Glock 17, Ruger Vaquero .44 mag

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Tally XD's Avatar
    Start like most of us did by reading the AR-15 forums at AR15.com where you can learn more about the rifle than most anywhere else you can go.

This will let you decide which model and accessories you desire.

You will also find info on what products are best for certain types of use and all the info you need in case you decide to build your own.

Four months ago I knew nothing about an AR-15 except they were black. I had never even held one. I now have a very nice A3 flattop AR-15 in 5.56 that I purchased every piece and put togehter with my own two hands with no help. It fires every time the trigger is pulled and is accurate.