FN FAL or M1A

This is a discussion on FN FAL or M1A within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I just took 2 rifles in trade.....a very nice 18" FN FAL built by Arizona Response Systems on an Imbel receiver and a standard Springfield ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: FN FAL or M1A

FN FAL or M1A

I just took 2 rifles in trade.....a very nice 18" FN FAL built by Arizona Response Systems on an Imbel receiver and a standard Springfield M1A. I know very little about either rifle but like them both. The FAL feels especially solid. Which is more reliable for serious purposes? If you could only have one, which would it be?

2. Remove Ads

Two of the best MBR's ever made so there's really no "wrong" answer between them. I love my FALs and they're lighter weight nor suffer the thumb bite of the M1A.

Distinguished Member Array Stetson's Avatar
    I have no experience with the FN FAL but I am sure it's a great rifle if it's being compared to the M-1.

Senior Moderator
    I prefer a quality FN-FAL over a M1A.
    “You can sway a thousand men by appealing to their prejudices quicker than you can convince one man by logic.”

― Robert A. Heinlein,

VIP Member

Both are excellent designs.

I have each. Three Indian made R.F.I. (Rifle Factory of Ishapore) and one Belgian made that served with the Israelis. The latter was converted from full to semi auto only. I once used one of my RFI's during a three gun match. I pumped about 250 rounds of ball through it on a single stage. It didn't miss a beat and had oil boiling out of every possible orrifice by the end.
    My M-14 is also converted from full auto. It also has performed flawlessly.
    Under Canadian law both are now classsified as "Prohibited" status. This means as a grandfathered collector I can keep them and acquire more if I wish. But I'm not even allowed to take them to the range, let alone hunt with them.