AR15 Scope/Optic Recommendations

AR15 Scope/Optic Recommendations

This is a discussion on AR15 Scope/Optic Recommendations within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm researching for the purchase of my first AR. There are SO MANY scopes/optics available for this gun. This is for defensive purposes, to accompany ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AR15 Scope/Optic Recommendations

Question AR15 Scope/Optic Recommendations

I'm researching for the purchase of my first AR. There are SO MANY scopes/optics available for this gun. This is for defensive purposes, to accompany my .45 and 12g. I may also use it to compete in 3-gun matches (optics probably aren't allowed, I have no idea yet). I plan to get some type of A4 flattop, probably a POF/DSA or RRA.

1.) I want something with night time capabilities as well as day.
    2.) I plan to have fold-down BUIS.
    3.) I've never used any type of scope or optics before.

Which scopes/optics/mounting options allow you to zero the BUIS and the scope/optic together? Is this a real benefit or should I get a setup that keeps the two separate, and if so, what is the preferred mounting solution (underneath, offset to side, etc.)?

What are the pros/cons of optics vs scopes?

Sorry I'm such a newb, but I gotta learn somehow. I can't post at ar15.com (I have a yahoo email addy), so I'm asking here (my favorite site). I don't want to buy something only to find out that its totally wrong for my needs.
    *** IN CASE OF EMERGENCY, DIAL - 1911 ***

Dan Wesson / CZ: Pointman 7, Stainless .45 ACP
    LaserMax, Carbon Fiber Ultra-thin Grips, Milt Sparks VM2, Milt Sparks 1.5" Tapered Gun Belt, Nickel Buckle, Galco Dual Magazine Carrier

Charles Daly: Field Hunter VR-MC, Semi-Auto 12g