Ar-15 hanguard quad rail question

This is a discussion on Ar-15 hanguard quad rail question within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; So I purchased a UTG quad rail for christmas from cheaperthandirt for my carbine I love the rail so far in terms of durability and ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

So I purchased a UTG quad rail for christmas from cheaperthandirt for my carbine

I love the rail so far in terms of durability and feel, but am having a little trouble with it. I am new to the AR and rifles in general so bear with me in my horrible description of the issue.

Rifle is a DMPS panther carbine. When I installed the handguard i pulled back the rubber piece that holds it on and there is what looks like a gear for the handguard to fit snug into. When i put the piece 2 pieces of the handguard together, the rails are slightly tilted to the right and the top rail does not line up perfectly with the A3 flat rail on the rifle itself. Is this just a flaw in the handguard or can that gear looking piece be turned at all to make it line up straight? I'd like to be able to put a scope on that splits between the two rails, but when i do it's tilted to the right because the rail doesn't perfectly line up. Any ideas?

Lead Moderator
    The "gear" is actually the barrel nut . This piece holds the barrel to the upper. The barrel nut can be tightened, ect but I would suggest reading up on AR15.COM on terminology as well as how to go about building a AR .this will explain how how everything works better than I could explain it.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

Quote Originally Posted by rocky View Post