semi auto rifle

This is a discussion on semi auto rifle within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hey guys, I am looking into getting a semi auto rifle with my tax return and had some questions. I am new to rifles as ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: semi auto rifle

semi auto rifle

Hey guys, I am looking into getting a semi auto rifle with my tax return and had some questions. I am new to rifles as handguns are my main purchases, but have been researching most of the rifles available. It will mainly be used for plinking, but might like to have it ready for a home defense gun. The four that I am looking at are the Cetme, Galil, SKS, and of course the AK. I really like the fact the Cetme shoots the 308, Im not a big fan of the Galils 223 but it seems like a nice compact package with greater accuracy than the AK. The SKS is much cheaper, but if I find a nice one I think it would work for my needs as well. As for price it looks like the Cetme is about 700 the Galil 600 AK is anywhere from 500 up and the SKS is 250 and up. Which would be the better starter rifle and the better bargain?

2. Remove Ads

See? Sometimes it's comes down to the way a question is worded. I look at the big picture here, and not just the initial investment.
    Which would be the better starter rifle and the better bargain?
    Putting some of my opinions aside, looking at ammo availability, magazine availability, parts availability, and a few other factors without regards to cost of the rifle up front, I'd definitely say the AK is going to be the better "bargain" in the long run. And if that's not enough, I figure the AK would at least hold a better resale value as well.

Thaks Ramrod. I wasn't actually saying the cheapest up front, but the better gun for the money for my needs. I am more than willing to pay more for something that will work better for me.

Quote Originally Posted by Bowdenknxvll View Post