Need opinions on short Rifle for Home Defense

This is a discussion on Need opinions on short Rifle for Home Defense within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am looking for a rifle that is no longer then 40 inches for home defense. I would get an AR rifle but I might ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need opinions on short Rifle for Home Defense

I am looking for a rifle that is no longer then 40 inches for home defense. I would get an AR rifle but I might give the impression (live in N.J.) that Im a terrorist. I have had a lot of shooting experience while active in the Marines but lack experience with non-military type rifles. The rifle I seek needs to be both reliable and not longer then 40 inches. Any suggestions? Thank-You for your thoughts!

Administrator
    I've always thought a Ruger Deerfield carbine would be a sweet little home defender. 44mag in a semi auto carbine is just pure goodness. Capacity is a little low, but that can be overcome.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Senior Member Array mr surveyor's Avatar
    Beretta CX4 Storm

surv

Quote Originally Posted by mr surveyor View Post
    Beretta CX4 Storm

surv
    That would be a nice one IMO. Couple of guys at the range a while back had a pair of them. They offered to let me shoot one....I guess I should have now. If I ever thought about a HD rifle other than an AK, it would definitely be in a pistol caliber with a 10+ capacity. That CX4 really seems like it would fill the bill!

Administrator
    Quote Originally Posted by Ram Rod View Post
    That would be a nice one IMO. Couple of guys at the range a while back had a pair of them. They offered to let me shoot one....I guess I should have now. If I ever thought about a HD rifle other than an AK, it would definitely be in a pistol caliber with a 10+ capacity. That CX4 really seems like it would fill the bill!

unfortunatly, its about the only worth while PCC in current production.