good semi auto shotgun for home defense and plinking

This is a discussion on good semi auto shotgun for home defense and plinking within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello, I am new in this board. I am intersted in buying am semi auto 12 gauge shotgun for plinking an sd. But I am ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: good semi auto shotgun for home defense and plinking

Hello, I am new in this board. I am intersted in buying am semi auto 12 gauge shotgun for plinking an sd. But I am a shotgun newbie and I would be be pleased hearing some suggestions.

ps: I am from austria and pump action shotguns are prohibited since 1996, so I am forced to buy am semi auto modell or an double barreld shotgun.

I have a Mossberg 9200 semi auto combo package i bought that comes with a 18.5" cylinder bore HD barrel and a 28" vent rib ported barrel with choke tubes for skeet shooting or hunting.I also own a beretta 390 semi auto with a 28" barrel and a Browning Gold Hunter 12 ga 28" barrel.The mossberg was the least expensive even with 2 barrels and has a safety that is ambidextrous.(No Pump action but can own a Semi-Auto Hmmmmmm)
    "Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country,"
    --Mayor Marion Barry, Washington , DC .

thx for your answer. And yes that's an odd law, but gun bans never make sense. Thx for your answer dukalmighty I will check if the models you have mentioned are available.

ps: Which buckshot or birdshot size would be the best choice for sd in an bulding (flat)? The walls are very thick, so the risk of overpenetration even which buckshot should be minmal, but I am not an expert.

Best HD IMHO is either #4 buckshot or 00 buckshot,either one should stop the threat
    "Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country,"
    --Mayor Marion Barry, Washington , DC .

Welcome to DefensiveCarry! Glad to have you.