HD and Range fun?

HD and Range fun?

This is a discussion on HD and Range fun? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hey friends, I am completely new to shotguns, but have a hankering to buy one. I could use some advice from this community. I would ...

Thread: HD and Range fun?

HD and Range fun?

Hey friends, I am completely new to shotguns, but have a hankering to buy one. I could use some advice from this community. I would like to have a fairly good quality shotgun that can double as a home/self defense weapon and also one that is fun to take to the range to shoot clay pigeons. 20 gauge is probably where I am headed. I thought a pump action would be good, but a friend who shoots Beretta shotguns says they are "old technology" and recommends up and down or semi-auto. I have long arms and am tall but not sure I want a really long shotgun. Where should I start my research?
    Thanks in advance
    NRA, IDPA, GSSF & GSSA member
    Certified Glock Armorer

I like pump shotguns personally. I'd go with 12ga though. Been a while since I shot any clays, but slugs at the range can be a lot of fun depending on what you're using for targets.

Like Ram Rod, I also prefer pumps. I own a 12 ga. mossberg. "Old technology" should not be confused with "Obsolete technology".
    "Wise people learn when they can; fools learn when they must." - The Duke of Wellington

Quote Originally Posted by matiki View Post
    "Old technology" should not be confused with "Obsolete technology".
    Especially in the firearms department.
    How is a pump action 'older technology' than an over/under anyway?

IMO, you should go with a 12GA Mossberg pump gun with an 18 inch barrel.

Amen!

Or you can shoot old technology semi-auto guns that are dependable.

1931 Remington Model 11 12 guage

With short barrel for household defense
    [

With original barrel (bottom shotgun) after a morning's duck hunt