Remington 870 tactical (2)

This is a discussion on Remington 870 tactical (2) within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I didn't want to steal the other thread, so I started this one. I hope I made the right choice. I have never owned a ...

Thread: Remington 870 tactical (2)

I didn't want to steal the other thread, so I started this one. I hope I made the right choice.

I have never owned a shotgun but am looking at the 870.
    If it can be used for HD can it also be used for hunting? Remember Newbie here.
    I would like to justify my purchase as a dual purpose weapon.
    What kind of spread at 100 yards? you use slugs? 00 buck?
    I saw on a TV show "The Best Defense" where they said to use Bird Shot for home defense. Devastating up close and hardly any wall penetration .
    Can a 12 gauge use bird shot? Or is it only 410? Please refer to Newbie statement above.
    I am sure some of you are LOL, but I gotta learn sometime. And I don't mind.
    Thanks, And have you've seen this?
    YouTube - Remington's Masterpiece 870 Shotgun

The 870 is a great choice for home defense; very reliable. Look for an improved cylinder barrel, perhaps 18+ inches on length. No. 3 buckshot is what my federal agency issued for use in the 870's, along with rifled slugs. 12 ga of course for caliber. I wouldn't use birdshot under any circumstances. The #3 buckshot is very effective, and over-penetration of a home's exerior walls
    shouldn't be a problem (unless your using rifled slug ammo).

This may help

12 Gauge Shotshell Ammunition

For personal defense and law enforcement applications, the International Wound Ballistics Association advocates number 1 buckshot as being superior to all other buckshot sizes.