Side by Side..warning..?

Side by Side..warning..?

This is a discussion on Side by Side..warning..? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm new to the SxS and need an answer to a question. I have the gun for HD and want to keep it loaded. The ...

Thread: Side by Side..warning..?

Side by Side..warning..?

I'm new to the SxS and need an answer to a question. I have the gun for HD and want to keep it loaded. The instruction manual under WARNING "suggests" that you do NOT keep, carry or store the gun with the HAMMER SPRINGS UNDER COMPRESSION. To release the compression the trigger must be pulled. Is this simply a safety factor or will keeping the hammer springs under compression while keeping the gun loaded weaken or damage the spring? The only way to keep the gun loaded is with the hammer springs under tension. What gives? Thanks.

Leaving it cocked means leaving full tension on the sear surface-DON'T.

You should be able to break it open without cocking the hammers, how else are you loading/unloading...? What brand of shotgun?

Senior Member Array Shadowsbane's Avatar
    Well, I know that springs generally only weaken by being used. (tension, then relaxed cycles.) So keeping tension on the springs shouldn't really harm them.

Not sure about the sear surface though.

Is this one of those hammerless auto cocking SxS's?
    Now, we must all fear evil men. But there is another kind of evil which we must fear most, and that is the indifference of good men.

www.Lonelymountainleather.com

VIP Member
    I go old school with my SxS defense shottie....EXTERNAL HAMMERS....aka Rabbit Ears!
    Quemadmodum gladius neminem occidit, occidentis telum est.-Seneca

"If you carry a gun, people will call you paranoid. If I have a gun, what do I have to be paranoid about?" -Clint Smith

"An unarmed man can only flee from evil, and evil is not overcome by fleeing from it." -Jeff Cooper