whats in a name?

whats in a name?

This is a discussion on whats in a name? within the Defensive Rifles & Shotgun Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; if this is too off topic please move.... I was reading in the 2a section the post on why many Americans BELIEVE that we are ...

Thread: whats in a name?

whats in a name?

if this is too off topic please move....

I was reading in the 2a section the post on why many Americans BELIEVE that we are buying more firearms and a new term (at least new to me) appeared in the article. "semiautomatic sport-utility rifles"i already try to use "firearm" rather than "gun" I think we all should try to use the term "sport-utility rifles" instead of "assault rifle". I don't want to hear any "a rose by any other name would smell just as sweet" non sense in this world names have a large impact on how ignorant people look at things. I am not just talking about firearms here it happens in every industry ( I am studying marketing and have taken classes on this) I think that by changing the name we could help sheep be less afraid of our sport. In he current political climate every non anti sheep helps. When hear the words assault rife they thing negative because assault has a negative connotation in this country, assault is associated with crime. Just a thought comments are welcome.
    God invented cops so that firemen could have heroes too!

Senior Member Array PointnClick's Avatar
    "Sport-utility rifle"... I like it...

We do think in words... I just heard the President talk about "revenue enhancements"... we don't have tax increases any more....

I say we do it...
    "Who is to say that I am not an instrument of karma? Indeed, who is to say that I am not the very hand of God himself, dispatched by the Almighty to smite the Philistines and hypocrites, to lay low the dishonest and corrupt, and to bust the jawbone of some jackass that so desperately deserves it?"