Locking lug peening SA1911

This is a discussion on Locking lug peening SA1911 within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; HI, I'm not sure if this is the place to ask about issues such as the one with my Springfield 1911A1 Loaded. Did a search ...

Thread: Locking lug peening SA1911

Locking lug peening SA1911

HI, I'm not sure if this is the place to ask about issues such as the one with my Springfield 1911A1 Loaded. Did a search and couldn't find this particular problem listed anyplace but then, not many people actually state the subject of their post in the title. (that's a peeve best addressed elsewhere I guess )

Please excuse my use of the wrong terminology in describing part, I'm new to 1911's and working on firearms but I'm trying.

My problem is after putting 1000 rds through a brand new SA Loaded, as I was cleaning it and changing out the FLG that was original from Springfield for a Wilson Combat "bullet proof" stainless standard GI guide rod/plug/spring kit.

As I was doing so, I noticed the barrel link not rotating freely, only swinging maybe 90 degrees until meeting resistance. Looking further I saw peening on the front (nearest the muzzle) of the locking lug legs on the underside of the barrel. Two noticable spots on each leg directly opposite each other. These caused burrs to impinge into the barrel link slot, thus impeding the forward/rearward swivel motion of the link.

After using an ignition point file to remove the burrs from the inside front edge of the legs and flushing the swivel pin area with oil, it is now operating smoothly and full-range again. After reassembly I find that the slide action is working smoother now than it ever has.

My question is, what would have caused this in the first place? I haven't shot it again since this occurred because this all took place this morning but I don't want to damage anything else peripherally if this is an indication of an underlying problem.