Best Cleaning Kit?

Best Cleaning Kit?

This is a discussion on Best Cleaning Kit? within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; I am new to cleaning firearms. Just purchased my first firearm (Glock 23) I was wondering what are some of the best cleaning kits available. ...

Thread: Best Cleaning Kit?

Best Cleaning Kit?

I am new to cleaning firearms. Just purchased my first firearm (Glock 23)

I was wondering what are some of the best cleaning kits available.
    I already know I will be using Gunzilla.

What type of Brushes, Jags, ect.

I also wanted something to clean rifles. I have read that you should use a 1 piece rod, any other tips?

Thanks

congrats on the new Glock 23,the cleaning rod/ bore brush that came with your Glock should be fine,although some prefer using a bronze brush..you might also want to get a box of cotton swabs for cleaning the rails and a few nylon gun brushes or tooth brushes too,just makes cleaning a bit easier..i use Outers gun cleaning kit,works fine for me..lots of good gun cleaners and lubes to choose from too,Ballistol,Hoppes Ellite,M Pro-7 even Mobil 1 are some of my favorites..Winchester gun cleaning patches can be bought at Walmart,they also work pretty good..

Distinguished Member
    Welcome to DC. We have the G23 in common.

I would get a universal kit like the Browning from opticsplanet for $39.00 with free shipping or look in my local Walmart, Dicks Sports or gun store for a universal kit. I don't worry about using 3 piece rods unless they are made of stainless steel. Clean from the breech to the muzzle if you can.