Anyone use either of these kits?

This is a discussion on Anyone use either of these kits? within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; I'm new to firearms so I would appreciate some advice on cleaning kits. I'm a cancer survivor (exposure to AO and diesel fuel) so I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Anyone use either of these kits?

I'm new to firearms so I would appreciate some advice on cleaning kits. I'm a cancer survivor (exposure to AO and diesel fuel) so I avoid as many petroleum products as I can. MPro7 and Gunzilla both indicate they are non-toxic so they seem like good options for me.

I found two kits on Amazon ---

Amazon.com: Hoppe's M-Pro 7 Gun Cleaner - Tactical Cleaning Kit, Clam: Sports & Outdoors

Amazon.com: Otis .22-45 Caliber Pistol Cleaning System: Sports & Outdoors

What are the advantages/disadvantages to the rods vs the cables?

Others prefer Jags. Being new, I have no experience so any suggestion or recommendation from the more experienced folks is greatly appreciated.

Mike
    Praise the Lord my Rock, who trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle --- Psalm 144

Ruger owners check our sister forum http://rugerpistolforums.com a great site to share and learn about your Ruger pistols.

No thoughts or comments?
    Praise the Lord my Rock, who trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle --- Psalm 144

Ruger owners check our sister forum http://rugerpistolforums.com a great site to share and learn about your Ruger pistols.

Personally I like the Otis system, but it takes practice to get the patches to go through just right. But I've also used cleaning rods for a long time, and never really had issues with them. One advantage of cleaning rods, is if your muzzle gets clogged with mud or something during training (it shouldn't happen, but can), you can use the rod to knock it out easier.