Don't this Bore-snake works that well... (pics)

This is a discussion on Don't this Bore-snake works that well... (pics) within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; So I've been using bore snake since 2008 or so... I thought they were the best way to clean a barrel quickly. and I figured ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Don't this Bore-snake works that well... (pics)

Don't this Bore-snake works that well... (pics)

So I've been using bore snake since 2008 or so... I thought they were the best way to clean a barrel quickly. and I figured they would remove most of the carbon....

fast forward to today, I shot my M&P9c and it was getting groups tigther than usual. like amazingly accurate compared to before (which was what I expected out of a compact pistol). I had actually cleaned it with bore-eliminator the prior week just out of curiousity on how it would perform after a squeky clean barrel... (when I cleaned it with bore-elim, it was after the range session, so I knew the bore would be dirty)

Today, I decided to clean a pistol that I had cleaned with a bore-snake after a range session... so it should have been clean right? After the first patch with a properly sized brass jag, this is the amount of carbon/lead that came out (ignore the blue copper remover color, that's from the brass jag) then after brushing the inside then running a wet bore eliminator patch again, look at all that build up it removed. (H&K mk23 barrel)

I used CLP in the bore followed with the bore snake, then applied tuf-glide lastly to protect the metal.

I'm just amazed how much stuff was left over... looks like after a range session, this is how I will be cleaning my bores from now on. it's more tedious work, but that's too much left over in my book. and after I saw how much more accurate my M&P9c shot today, I'm satisfied

2. Remove Ads