Cleaning question

Cleaning question

This is a discussion on Cleaning question within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; Hello all from the new guy (notice this is my third post). I am new to the world of guns (except the ones that shoot ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Cleaning question

Cleaning question

Hello all from the new guy (notice this is my third post). I am new to the world of guns (except the ones that shoot darts), and I have nobody to teach me.

So after watching a dozen YouTube videos, I am very interested in how you folks clean your pistols. Here are a few methods I saw on YouTube:

1. Field strip gun, place all pieces in a jewelry ultrasonic cleaner filled with hoppes 9, for 5 minutes. Remove, rinse with water, dry with paper towels, oil slide, springs and dip barrel into oil., reassemble.

2. Field strip, spray all pieces with simple green, let soak for 5 minutes, rinse with water, dry using compressed air, oil slide track, springs, and firing pin channel. reassemble.

3. Field strip, using metal brushes and a pad with hoppes 9 clean barrel. Use toothbrush with some hoppes 9 to clean springs. Use q-tips with hoppes 9 to clean slide track. Rinse with water, use air compressor to dry. Dip Q-tip in oil, lightly oil springs, outside of barrel, and slide track. Reassemble. Disassemble firing pin and clean channel every 100-150 rounds.

I think the last one sounds best, but I don't have a clue. What do you guys do, and what would you reccomend? I would like to keep and use this firearm a long time.

Thanks,
    DJ

VIP Member
    Hiding inside a bottle of Jim Beam Black.
    There are endless ways to clean a gun, and endless opinions on how it should be done. Bear in mind that guns don't need to be "hospital sterile."