How often to clean to Sig M4?

This is a discussion on How often to clean to Sig M4? within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; After how many rounds should I clean it? I'm fairly new to this platform as I mostly shoot handguns....

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By whoppo
  • 1 Post By RETSUPT99

Thread: How often to clean to Sig M4?

After how many rounds should I clean it? I'm fairly new to this platform as I mostly shoot handguns.
    "Rebellion against tyrants is obedience to God." - Benjamin Franklin
    "Experience: that most brutal of teachers. But you learn, my God do you learn." - C.S. Lewis

Distinguished Member
    I shoot my AR platform weapons at least a couple of times a month and they get cleaned after each trip to the range.
    In the rare event that one doesn't get shot & cleaned with the rest of them, I'll generally take a little time each month to break it open to wipe things down and "freshen" the lube in and around the bolt carrier group.... just 'cuz :)
    ErnieNWillis likes this.
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    The Second Amendment *IS* Homeland Security
    --------------------- Μολὼν λαβέ ----------------------

Anything I use, I clean right after use...
    ErnieNWillis likes this.
    The last Blood Moon Tetrad for this millennium starts in April 2014 and ends in September 2015...according to NASA.

Certified Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member[/B]

I usually do too retsupt99. However, sometimes I'll only have enough time to put, say, 50 rounds down range. So I'll wait until the next "full time" range trip and clean the handgun(s) I used as soon as I get home. This has happened to me a few times with the M4 and I didn't bother to clean it. For example, I had six 30rnd mags loaded but something came up and I had to leave before I even got half way through the first mag. I didn't bother cleaning it after that.