Am I cleaning my XDm correctly?

This is a discussion on Am I cleaning my XDm correctly? within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; Hey guys I'm new to the forums, i just signed up a couple hours ago, and look forward to seeing how much knowledge i can ...

Thread: Am I cleaning my XDm correctly?

Hey guys I'm new to the forums, i just signed up a couple hours ago, and look forward to seeing how much knowledge i can gain from sticking around.

I just turned 21 a couple weeks ago and proceeded to purchase my first handgun, a Springfield XDm 9mm Compact, a few days afterwards. So needless to say, I'm a newb. I'm not totally oblivious but I do have a lot to learn.

Now to my question. I guess I'm not asking whether or not I'm cleaning it correctly as much as I just want everyone's opinion on my cleaning process, plus any tips, warnings, etc.

The materials I use are: Hoppe's #9, Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner, Rod and bore brush, patches, toothbrush, and Hoppe's lube (orange bottle).

As you can probably guess, I use the Hoppe's #9 on the inside of the bore. But first I spray the outside and inside of the barrel with The Hoppe's Elite and let it soak while I'm working on the rest of the gun. I spray everything else to be cleaned with the Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner and scrub with toothbrush/wipe with patches.

Then I go back to the bore and use my rod and brass bore brush (dipped in #9) with a couple strokes (usually 4-5). Then i put some Hoppe's #9 on a patch and run it through. After that I continue to put new patches on a rod and run it through the bore until the one comes out clean.

Finally, I use the Hoppe's lube on the guide rails, feed ramp, and anything else i see that is metal EXCEPT the whole trigger assembly because I've heard mixed feelings towards getting stuff in/on the trigger assembly.