3-in-1 oil

3-in-1 oil

This is a discussion on 3-in-1 oil within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; I've been using the same can of 3-in-1 oil for at least 30 years. And it wasn't a new can when I acquired it - ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: 3-in-1 oil

3-in-1 oil

I've been using the same can of 3-in-1 oil for at least 30 years. And it wasn't a new can when I acquired it - it has "1968" on the side.

Some time back I ran out of military-surplus gun oil and tried the 3-in-1, liked it better, and kept using it. I finally ran out, and my wife brought home a new plastic bottle from the Wall-Mall. I carefully pried the applicator off the old metal fan and refilled it from the new bottle.

Oddly, the 45-year-old oil had a very strong odor; the new stuff has only a very slight odor. 3-in-1 used a lot more citronella back in the old days, particularly for it to be that pungent after 45 years...

VIP Member
    Quote Originally Posted by TRX View Post
    I've been using the same can of 3-in-1 oil for at least 30 years. And it wasn't a new can when I acquired it - it has "1968" on the side.

Some time back I ran out of military-surplus gun oil and tried the 3-in-1, liked it better, and kept using it. I finally ran out, and my wife brought home a new plastic bottle from the Wall-Mall. I carefully pried the applicator off the old metal fan and refilled it from the new bottle.

Oddly, the 45-year-old oil had a very strong odor; the new stuff has only a very slight odor. 3-in-1 used a lot more citronella back in the old days, particularly for it to be that pungent after 45 years...
    Let us know how it smells in 2059, when it's time for refill #2.
    halem1, cn262, gasmitty and 1 others like this.
    -PEF, a Framer with a Steelie...
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    1. All guns are always loaded.
    2. Never let the muzzle cover anything you are not willing to destroy.