Humidity Control. What's the best way?

This is a discussion on Humidity Control. What's the best way? within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; I finally bought a gun safe and want to know what you guys are doing to control the humidity in your safes. I've used a ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By dennis40x

Thread: Humidity Control. What's the best way?

North Carolina

I finally bought a gun safe and want to know what you guys are doing to control the humidity in your safes. I've used a gun cabinet for years with no humidity control and have yet to have a problem with rust. The guns I frequently handle I keep wiped down with gun oil or silicon cloth and that has always done the trick for rust prevention. Guns I don't handle get the cloth once a year or so. Im no expert but I'm sure my new safe will be fairy air tight at least more so than my flimsy sheet metal cabinet so I'm concerned about humidity getting in and not being able to get out. I just ordered a new legit gun safe and want to do things right. I know the make humidity rods and also those decedent things. Do you all use one of those or combination of both? Just curious

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I use desecant and an electric warming rod that keeps temp at 65-70 degrees and humidity at about 40-50 % depending on how much the desecant has absorbed. 40% after drying the desecant in the oven and closer to 50% when it needs to be dried again.

Haven't had any rust issues, although I still keep my weapons wiped down with oil or a silicone cloth.
    "Everybody wants to go to heaven, but nobody wants to die." Joe Lewis