WD-40 for maintenance?

WD-40 for maintenance?

This is a discussion on WD-40 for maintenance? within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; Hello, it's great to be part of your forum, thank you. I've been using WD-40 for more than thirty years to lubricate my guns. I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: WD-40 for maintenance?

WD-40 for maintenance?

Hello, it's great to be part of your forum, thank you. I've been using WD-40 for more than thirty years to lubricate my guns. I have heard only negative comments and warnings about WD-40. All of my guns function flawlessly and the finish on everyone of them is like new. I have never experienced any of the negatives described by so many others, to include any contamination of primers. Does anyone use WD-40 as I do, and if so, have you experienced any negative effects? I keep asking myself if there is just a lot of bias out there for some strange reason I don't know about, otherwise, why haven't I had any negatives to talk about in all these years? Sure would appreciate some input.

Sorry no answer, but it is good to start the day by learning something (for me anyway).

WD-40 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I've never used it on guns, always heard it left something sticky behind. I noted in the Wiki entry it mentions that. I see that the main components are mineral spirits-which I use to clean up really filthy guns-and mineral oil, which is a much lighter lubricant that I would want to run in a high round count gun or that I trust to stay on a holster gun. But, for light stuff, like maybe .22s, maybe it would be okay. But again, the whole "sticky residue" puts me off.
    If it works for you, then it's okay for you...hard to argue with that.
    What Would Gumby Do?

Distinguished Member Array Rugergirl's Avatar
    I haven't tried WD40 and honestly I have no intension of trying it.
    Do a little experiment at home and you'll see why.