muzzle load cleaning?

This is a discussion on muzzle load cleaning? within the Firearm Cleaning & Maintenance forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; I am very new to the gun world here. When i get home i am going to be getting a muzzle loader for hunting purposes. ...

Thread: muzzle load cleaning?

muzzle load cleaning?

I am very new to the gun world here. When i get home i am going to be getting a muzzle loader for hunting purposes. I was looking around on some websites like basspro cva ect. I sow special cleaning kits for just muzzle loaders. Is this really needed or can i just use the things i use to clean my 9mm. which is a cleaner/penetrating oil.
    NRA LIFE MEMBER
    the way to be safe is never to be secure.
    Benjamin franklin

2. Remove Ads

I can't speak to cleaning up with black powder substitutes like Pyrodex or similar products, but, if you use black powder, NEVER use petroleum based products on a muzzleloader for cleaning! You end up with a black tar like mess. Hot water is all you need to clean away black power fowling. TC makes some good products for bore seasoning and rust protection, and I'm sure there are others out there.

Lead Moderator
    I have a couple of flintlocks, and if you are using black powder you can clean the weapon using just water and patches.
    Rick

EOD - Initial success or total failure

ok thanks i will take a look when i get home in 10 days or so in the store for some stuff any more advice on this will help thanks
    NRA LIFE MEMBER
    Benjamin franklin