Build a 1911?

Build a 1911?

This is a discussion on Build a 1911? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi was just curious if anyone on this form has built their own 1911 from a kit? I would like to own a 1911 in ...

Thread: Build a 1911?

Build a 1911?

Hi was just curious if anyone on this form has built their own 1911 from a kit? I would like to own a 1911 in the near future and got to thinking it would be nice to build it from a kit.

I would consider myself moderately mechanical minded, but I have no experience with a 1911 handgun. I would like to have a kit that is fairly simple to assemble and requires little filing and fitting.

If anyone knows of some good places to receive this information please pass it along.

1911forum/gunsmithing Have fun :)
    Get the U.N. out of the U.S.
    Get the U.S. out of the U.N.

Fusion Firearms sells parts and kits, you might want to look there.
    TSgt. Lickey

It takes a college degree to break'em;
    and a high school education to fix'em!

Advice #1, If you are doing it for the stated reason I say read te M1911 forum both the Technical and Gunsmithing section buy the fusion kit and go for it. You probably have the tools and skills required. If you are doing it to save money. save your money and buy a 1911 that is already built. In the end you will spend more money than a commercially built 1911 will cost you.

Advice #2 Don't get in a hurry, Read every thread in the m1911 forum in the stated sections. There is nothing hard about building a 1911. It can be fiddly at times and someimes you just want to pull your hair out.

Advice #3 This is the most important--"There Is No Such Thing As A Drop In Part Reguarding The 1911." Some parts will "drop in", some will not, However, the same part will not EVER drop into 2 differnet 1911's and work without some kind of fitting.

Have fun there is no better feeling than building your own 1911.