Well, Whadaya Know! I'm an Instructor!

This is a discussion on Well, Whadaya Know! I'm an Instructor! within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; No, I'm not an instructor. But this weekend I was. I've got two ranges on the property, a short (25-yardish) and a long (out to ...

Thread: Well, Whadaya Know! I'm an Instructor!

Well, Whadaya Know! I'm an Instructor!

No, I'm not an instructor. But this weekend I was.

I've got two ranges on the property, a short (25-yardish) and a long (out to 1200 yards, if you don't mind climbing a mountain on BLM land) and carry pretty much always, so my neighbors may have somehow gotten the idea that I like to shoot guns. Now, I'm pretty much a hermity type, but I do have five sets of neighbors within about a mile radius and try to maintain good relations with them. One set I'm especially fond of is an older couple from Phoenix that've been building a beautiful house on weekends for almost the past ten years. I watch their place for them during the week and do other little favors for them as the opportunity affords. They've got a crowd of grandkids who often spend the weekend out here, sometimes with the parents, sometimes not.

Anyway, with the return of warm weather my neighbors have had a plague of rattlesnakes that have scared them because of their grandkids and their little Shih Tzu dog. They've talked about buying a handgun but don't know anything about them, and asked if I'd mind showing them handling basics. Of course I said I'd love to. So we made a date for this past weekend and ... nine people showed up. Two grandparents, two parents, and five kids.