Holding a pistol correctly - help me!

This is a discussion on Holding a pistol correctly - help me! within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Okay, I'm kinda new to shooting - I'm trying to shoot more accurately. I'm not a great shot, but I'm good. I'm trying to understand ...

Thread: Holding a pistol correctly - help me!

Holding a pistol correctly - help me!

Okay, I'm kinda new to shooting - I'm trying to shoot more accurately. I'm not a great shot, but I'm good. I'm trying to understand the pistol grip a little better.

They say to grip it so that the gun is in line w/ my forearm, but when I look at some professionals pictures in a typical stance, the firearm is not aligned w/ thier forearm, but slightly off.

It would make sense to have the firearm DIRECTLY in line with the bones of the forearm, but it definately feels kind of funny. Hopefully I'm understanding this right.

So - Hand up as far as you can get it to the barrel, barrel aligned exactly with the bones of the forearm. Tilt offhand slightly down, grip pistol, both thumbs forward. Elbows 1) BENT or 2) LOCKED, knees slightly bent, body leaning slightly forward. Carefully roll back trigger untill break, Don't fight recoil, follow the front sight and let it fall back on target, fire. Repeat. Is this correct? If you see any errors or have any tips please let me know!!

What part of my finger should be on the trigger on my glock? I've heard to use the very tip of my finger, where my fingernail is. Others say the pad (middle). Some say use the joint of the finger. I'm having trouble slightly shaking the gun during dryfire. The trigger on a glock is so different then my revolver, its not smooth all the way through. Its like Loooooose, then major resistance, and barely any distance between resistance and discharge. Do you guys have any tips for a more steady trigger pull on a STOCK glock? Is the key to use the 40% grip w/ my shooting hand, and 60% on the offhand?