9mm vs 38 special. which is more powerful?

This is a discussion on 9mm vs 38 special. which is more powerful? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; my guess is this has been discussed a million times but i am kinda new to the whole shooting thing. just got my CC card ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 9mm vs 38 special. which is more powerful?

9mm vs 38 special. which is more powerful?

my guess is this has been discussed a million times but i am kinda new to the whole shooting thing. just got my CC card today and went out and bought a couple guns.

one is a glock 17, fine pistol no doubt. one reason to get it was the abundance of 9mm ammo. 38 special used to be THE popular caliber i thought but still hard to find for cheap. which has the more stopping power, I would assume the 38 due to the larger shell, or both equally usable?

2. Remove Ads

Senior Moderator
    Ballistic Comparison MV ME
    1. .38 Special 948 273
    2. 9mm Luger (Parabellum) 1145 346

MV = muzzle velocity and ME = Muzzle energy

The 9mm fire at a higher velocity therefore it carries higher energy
    “You can sway a thousand men by appealing to their prejudices quicker than you can convince one man by logic.”

― Robert A. Heinlein,

oh god, here we go........

I prefer the 9mm for the reasons above^
    "In those days, there was a lot more respect for other people and it showed in peoples values.... Today the word value means nothing more than something you get on the $1 menu at McDonald's." -BARK'N

also which 38 did you buy?
    "In those days, there was a lot more respect for other people and it showed in peoples values.... Today the word value means nothing more than something you get on the $1 menu at McDonald's." -BARK'N

VIP Member
    S. Florida, north of the Miami mess, south of the Mouse trap
    Stand in front of either, or both, and ask that question again.