Planning on getting a lathe...

This is a discussion on Planning on getting a lathe... within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I've been a hobby gunsmith for most of my life, self taught. Throughout the years I've noticed that most pro's use a lathe for even ...

Thread: Planning on getting a lathe...

VIP Member Array automatic slim's Avatar

Question Planning on getting a lathe...

I've been a hobby gunsmith for most of my life, self taught. Throughout the years I've noticed that most pro's use a lathe for even simple projects. I'm considering getting a small one like the Microlux 7x16 to start with. I'm on a budget so I can't afford nor do I have the room for one of those Clausing monsters.
    I've never used a lathe, but do pick up info quickly. I've done a lot of research, but still have questions as to capabilities of this particular model. I would like to be able to not only make items like firing pins, screws and pins, but also cut and clean up internal and external threads, recrown pistol barrels, etc.
    My question is, can any lathe do these chores or do I need a top end model? Thanks in advance.
    "First gallant South Carolina nobly made the stand."
    Edge of Darkness

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    I am not an expert but I have had some experience in a machine shop years ago. Any lathe can do these chores but the more features you can get the easier it will be. Cutting threads is tough tedious work. The more automation the easier it will be.

Also you need to get one long enough for a rifle barrel. Many inexpensive lathes are under 20 inches. I am not a machinist and am not up to date on newer equipment so I can't really suggest too much more.
    It is surely true that you can lead a horse to water but you can't make them drink. Nor can you make them grateful for your efforts.

Senior Moderator