Corrosive Ammo

This is a discussion on Corrosive Ammo within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello all, I've never worked with corrosive ammo before, and I'm trying to get a better understanding of it. My first and only gun right ...

Thread: Corrosive Ammo

Corrosive Ammo

Hello all,

I've never worked with corrosive ammo before, and I'm trying to get a better understanding of it. My first and only gun right now is my Mossberg 500. Normally when I clean it I have a hand towel that I dab in Hoppee's 9 solvent and clean out the chamber with, then I wipe the chamber clean with the dry corner of the towel. Afterwards I apply some lub, spread it around with my fingers, work the action make sure the lub gets everywhere.

Anyway, I wanted to get a rifle, but didn't want to spend alot of money, I mainly wanted somethign to take to the range and beat the hell out of it, so I picked up a Mosin-Nagant after a bunch of people told me they how fun they were. Well I'm most likely going to be shooting the corrosive stuff since I don't wanna pay $22 box for a box the the premium winchester stuff and my question is, can I use the same towel, using the same method that I use for my shotgun on both guns, without risking corrosion to my shotgun?

TL:DR - If I use a towel to wipe down and clean a gun that fired corrosive ammo, can I use that same towel right afterwards and clean another gun without risk of spreading the corrosive materials to the second gun?

Thanks in advance.

2. Remove Ads

make sure you clean the barrel out as well i usually used a brush followed up by running some hoppes soaked patches thru till tou dont get anymore black stuff and but i dont see why it wouldnt work though you may have a hard time getting a finger in the chamber though

VIP Member Array automatic slim's Avatar