1st duck hunt; patterning my shotgun

This is a discussion on 1st duck hunt; patterning my shotgun within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; So, I'm anticipating my first duck hunt. I've been working with a guy, this summer, who's willing to show me the ropes. I gotta admit ...

So, I'm anticipating my first duck hunt. I've been working with a guy, this summer, who's willing to show me the ropes. I gotta admit that I'm excited.

I've got two problems.

I'm scared to death of the water

I can't seem to shoot my shotgun worth crap.

I picked up some #2 steel shot from Wally World, and some poster boards. We set out to pattern my shotgun.

Turns out that I can't hit a 3'X2' poster board at 35 yards. I'm too high.

Now, my newfound buddy tells me that he likes to use the 'horizon' or top arc of his shotgun barrel as his reference point, rather than the bead. I'm no pro, but everything that I've read points to shooter error being, most likely, that their head isn't down enough. But, if I use his technique, it naturally brings my head up and my shots are going seriously high.

So, I dunno. When I'm handgun shooting, I can easily diagnose the problem. Is their an easy diagnostic for shotgunning? My patterns seems to be centered, but quite high; like the center of my pattern is a good foot high. The bottom is where the center should be.

I guess that I could just start aiming low, but I dunno
    Trust in God and keep your powder dry

"A heavily armed citizenry is not about overthrowing the government; it is about preventing the government from overthrowing liberty. A people stripped of their right of self defense is defenseless against their own government." -source

Senior Moderator
    Are you using a vented rib?

Your sight picture should look like a bead sitting on top of the rail. If you see any rib, you arent sighting properly.

Use the TOP of the bead. That will lower your pattern.