Defensive Carry banner

New-old 336 hunting ammo?

3K views 15 replies 9 participants last post by  jbum 
#1 ·
I picked up a Marlin 336cs today at a small gun show in town for $275 OTD including a Bushnell 3x9x40 scope with peep mounts. I have been using a Remington 270 for many years for deer hunting but when I saw the lever gun it kinda spoke to me. For those of you who are using a 30-30 for hunting what are you finding to be the best ammo. Also there was not a sling or mounts included what are you suggestions for adding a sling. D.C. saves me sooo much surfing time heheheheh.

Thanks for all the advice!!

#3 ·
I have the 336 in stainless...love the gun, and it's about my 3rd one down through the decades...I'm keeping this one.
I have about 250 rounds of Federal Power-Shok 150 grain 30-30 Win.

#4 ·
Invest a few extra bucks and get the detachable swivels. Well worth it.

I used Federal ammo (it had the nice cartridge holders) in 150 grains. Most prefered 170 grains, but every deer I ever hit with the 150s dropped in its tracks with a big hole on the exit side.

The 3x9 is a bit extreme magnification for a 30-30 but if it's on it, so be it. I had a Glenfield (4x scope), which was the el cheapo version of the Marlin 336. Great gun. You'll enjoy it. Sounds like you got a nice deal.

#5 ·
150 grains shoot a little flatter than the 170s, but you're not going out past 200 yards with this gun so either will do fine. Pick a load and stick with it.

My 336 had studs but no swivels; I added the Uncle Mike's QD swivels and a GI-style sling from Midway. I find the "hasty-hasty" sling usage to be second nature for my offhand shots, and the GI sling makes that easy.

#6 ·