Defensive Carry banner

Red Dot Sights

3K views 14 replies 15 participants last post by  Superhouse 15 
#1 ·
I was looking around Gander Mountain today.I noticed the Red Dot Sights.As usual the employee's,few in number,knew very little about them.What are they?A scope?I checked a few YouTube videos but they were not that informative.The prices at Gander were between $30 and $400.Several of the packages indicated they would fit pistols also,is this true?I have a .357 S&W with a 4" barrel.I checked several websites that sell these,but I like to ask you folks.This .357 is not for concealed carry.If these sights are useful I think it would be a good addition,just for fun.

#2 ·
Red Dot sights are nice. I like the only one I have on top of my AR15 once in a while. Call me cheap, but it's a BSA I've been using for almost ten years.

#3 ·
The neat thing about red dot sights (RDS) is that if the red dot is on your target and appears anywhere in the eyepiece, your shot will be on target. No parallax to worry about. Once you're sighted in, you only need to adjust for elevation depending on your range to target.

#4 ·
With respect, this is only true with some sights, like the holographic Eo-techs, not all red dot sights are parallax free.

Most of my red dot usage is with rifles, specifically Aimpoints, Eo-techs, and Trijicon Acogs (not a battery powered red dot, but I still count it). There are a lot of advantages to having one on a rifle, especially for close quarters use. It can make for extremely fast target acquisition, among other things.

For pistols, there are a number of them available, and sue to size most are not very practical for CC, but could be used for a hunting/plinking/range pistol.

Some red dots have no magnification, and some like the Acog have low magnification like 4x. For rifles they also have magnifiers that you can set up behind a sight so you can either have magnification for longer range shot, or flip it out of the way for close in work.