Magazine Capacity +1

This is a discussion on Magazine Capacity +1 within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello everyone, I hope this is one of those "There is no dumb question" forums, because this might be the stupidest question you have ever ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Magazine Capacity +1

Magazine Capacity +1

Hello everyone,

I hope this is one of those "There is no dumb question" forums, because this might be the stupidest question you have ever heard.

I am a bit new to this, I shot a lot as a kid, and had lots of hand me downs, but all of the sudden I just got the sickness, and next thing I new I wanted to purchase a home protection device. My wife wanted a pump shotgun, but I talked her out of it somewhat, I wonder how she is going to get a barrel that large in between her and some monster holding her down on the bed. She finally caved.

So I went to Cabelas, and it was like fate. XDm 9mm, perfect for the both of us to shoot comfortably, and something I could eventually carry. Came with a great kit. Bought some FED JHP 124's to be at the ready, and a couple box of green box Remington to take to the range...

So, I know its a long explanation, but here is my question. The XDm 9mm is supposed to have two magazines, one 13+1 and one 19+1. So I load each magazine to its capacity, lock it in, chamber one, then I remove the magazine and load it to capacity again, and it just won't go all the way in. SO I have one chambered, and the magazine filled to capacity. What am I doing wrong? Or am I misunderstanding this "+1" terminology? Thanks for your time.

Dan

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member
    You are understanding correctly. If it's a new magazine the spring is probably stiff at capacity and it will take a good shove to seat the magazine all the way.

ok so its okay to force it in?

Old proverb, "If it don't fit, force it. If it breaks it needed replacin anyway!"